OzSpace19 Workshop: Present and Future of Australia’s Space Research

When: Monday, July 22nd 2019

Where: School of Physics, The University of Melbourne, School of Physics (David Caro Building), Hercus Theatre (L105):

Zoom broadcast for remote participation: https://unimelb.zoom.us/j/941142227

Contact: skyhopper-team@unimelb.edu.au

Critical dates: Friday, July 5th (abstract submission); Friday, July 12th (registration)

The goal of this meeting is to bring together the national academic community engaged in Space research to present current projects, and discuss opportunities for collaboration, with a focus on future (nano)-satellite missions for fundamental research in astronomy, physics, planetary and Earth sciences, and development of Space technology.

The program will include an overview of the James Webb Space Telescope, an open-sky flagship for astronomy in the next decade, and of the SkyHopper Space Telescope mission, an innovative concept for a 12U CubeSat equipped with state-of-the-art, actively-cooled infrared imaging, hosted by an agile and highly stable spacecraft. In addition to current projects, participants are encouraged to present their concepts for future missions, and ideas to increase engagement and participation of students and of the public in Space. Finally, the meeting will discuss capabilities and expertise to support future missions at Universities and research centers, as well as potential pathways to funding.

The workshop is aimed at researchers already active in the area of (nano)-satellites and to those interested in learning more about what is now possible with relatively low-cost small satellites and balloons.

Participants wishing to present their ongoing research or future mission concepts should fill out an abstract registration form no later than July 5th.  The organizing committee will review submissions and a final program will be released by July 8th.

There is no registration fee for the workshop but those wishing to participate must register by July 12th.

OzSpace19 schedule
MONDAY  22/7
TIME Hercus Theatre L105, entry from Physics (David Caro) level 2
9:00-10:00 Coffee and networking
10:00-10:15 Welcome and participant introductions
10:15-12:30 International landscape and current Australian Space projects 
10:15-10:40 The James Webb Space Telescope, a flagship for astrophysics Dr Massimo Stiavelli (STScI)
10:40-11:00 Galaxy formation at cosmic dawn with the James Webb Space Telescope Prof. Karl Glazebrook (Swinburne)
11:00:11:25 CSIRO’s Space Research Dr. Adrian Rispler (CSIRO)
11:25-11:45 Space observations for climate change studies Prof. Peter Rayner (UoM)
11:45-12:00 Space weather and the direct use of Helioseismology for improved predictions Dr. Alina Donea (Monash)
12:00-12:15 Emu – a 1.4-micron survey space telescope on the International Space Station Dr. Joice Mathew (ANU)
12:15-12:30 SkyHopper: Mission Update A/Prof. Michele Trenti (UoM)
12:30-1:30 Lunch
1:30-2:40 Space Centres and Facilities
1:30-1:55 The ARC Training Centre for CubeSats Prof. Iver Cairns (U Syd)
1:55-2:10 Space projects and facilities at ANU Prof. Matthew Colless (ANU)
2:10-2:25 Spacecraft ground-tracking capabilities  by the UTAS radio telescope network Dr Guifré Molera Calvés (UTAS)
2:25-2:40 Fabrication of advanced materials for Space Dr. Daniel Liang (CSIRO)
2:40-3:15 Mission concepts
2:40-2:55 Planetary Science CubeSats Dr. Hadrien Devillepoix (Curtin)
2:55-3:10 An Australian CubeSat mission for Formation Flying Space Interferometry Jonah Hansen (ANU)
3:10-3:25 Future Space Weather missions Prof. Fred Menk (Newcastle)
3:25-3:50 Coffee
3:50-4:35 Engagement, diversity and outreach 
3:50-4:05 International Space Station Experiments: Engagement with secondary schools Dr. Rebecca Allen (Swinburne)
4:05-4:20 A Brief Introduction to the Monash Nova Rover Team Michele Balestrat, Andrew Stuart, Harrison Verrios (Monash)
4:20-4:35 The ACRUX-1 CubeSat Blake Fuller (Melbourne Space Program)
4:40-5:30 Group discussion on collaboration and national growth of Space research 
Space in the Astronomy Decadal plan mid-term review
Interdisciplinary collaboration



Australian Astronomical Observatory ∙ Australian National University ∙ Cambridge University ∙ Curtin University ∙ Istituto Nazionale Di Astrofisica ∙ Macquarie University ∙ Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics ∙ NASA Goddard ∙ NASA Ames ∙ Space Telescope Science Institute ∙ Stonybrook University ∙ Swinburne Institute of Technology ∙ Thüringer Landessternwarte Tautenburg ∙ University of Colorado ∙ University of Leicester ∙ University of New South Wales ∙ University of Southern Queensland ∙ University of Virginia ∙ University of Western Australia